Webinar: Framing Matters - An alternative to the language of development, aid and charity | Viva Salud

Webinar: Framing Matters – An alternative to the language of development, aid and charity

The way we speak of world problems has an influence on the way we think of them and react to them. Language has the power to create social change. But what does this mean for organisations active in development cooperation?

During the webinar “Framing Matters – An alternative to the language of development, aid and charity”, Tess Woolfenden, of Health Poverty Action, will introduce us to the most frequent traps in our communication and give us tips on how to avoid them.

The dominant narrative heard today in the global North about poverty is mainly based on charity, aid and so-called “international development”. This narrative tells us that we can put an end to poverty and inequity if “we” give to “others”. Although development assistance, whatever its form, is important, stating that aid would be the main solution to poverty and inequity is incomplete and even damaging.

With a more conscious approach to how we communicate we can move beyond this damaging narrative, ensuring that we share effective messages on poverty and inequality, inspire people to take effective action and minimise any unintended harm we may be doing.


Together with Viva Salud, Be-Cause Health, Public Interest Research Centre and a few members of the Progressive Development Forum (Medact, NEON, PHM United Kingdom and PHM West and Central Africa), Health Poverty Action has realised a practical guide on how to communicate on world equity and international solidarity.

Infos

Time: Friday 19th June 2020 from 10.30 to 11.30 AM
Register viahttps://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_wVM4WmHYRpWBbV75959ISA 
Speaker: Tess Woolfenden, Policy and Campaigns Officer at Health Poverty Action
Moderator: Jasper Thys, Policy Officer at Viva Salud
Organisation: Viva Salud in collaboration with Be-cause Health and Health Poverty Action
Language: English

Webinaire: Framing Matters - Une alternative au langage du développement, de l'aide et de la charité | Viva Salud

Webinaire: Framing Matters – Une alternative au langage du développement, de l’aide et de la charité

La façon dont nous parlons des problèmes mondiaux influence notre façon d’y penser et d’y réagir. Les mots ont donc le pouvoir de déclencher un changement social. Mais qu’est-ce que cela veut dire pour des organisations de la coopération au développement ?

Au cours du webinaire “Framing Matters – An alternative to the language of development, aid and charity”, Tess Woolfenden, de Health Poverty Action, nous fera découvrir les pièges les plus fréquents dans notre communication et nous donnera des conseils sur la façon de les éviter.

Le récit dominant que l’on entend aujourd’hui dans les pays du nord au sujet de la pauvreté, est axé essentiellement sur la charité, l’aide et ce que l’on appelle le « développement international ». Ce récit nous dit que nous pouvons mettre fin à la pauvreté et à l’inégalité si « nous » donnons aux « autres ». Bien que l’aide au développement, sous quelque forme que ce soit, soit importante, l’affirmation que l’aide serait la solution principale à la pauvreté et l’inégalité est incomplète et même dommageable.

Par une approche plus consciente de la communication, nous pouvons dépasser ce récit nocif. En envoyant des messages plus efficaces au sujet de la misère et de l’injustice dans le monde, nous pouvons inspirer les gens à entrer concrètement en action, nous pouvons mettre des limites à une terminologie involontairement insultante.

Avec Viva Salud, Be-Cause Health, Public Interest Research Centre et plusieurs membres du Progressive Development Forum (Medact, NEON, MPS Royaume-Uni et PHM Afrique de l’Ouest et Centrale), Health Poverty Action a réalisé un guide pratique sur la façon de communiquer au sujet de l’équité mondiale et de la solidarité internationale.

Infos

Quand : vendredi 19 juin 2020 de 10h30 à 11h30
Inscriptions https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_wVM4WmHYRpWBbV75959ISA 
Orateur : Tess Woolfenden, collaborateur gestion et campagne chez Health Poverty Action
Modérateur : Jasper Thys, collaborateur politique Viva Salud
Organisation: Viva Salud en collaboration avec Be-cause Health et Health Poverty Action
Langue : anglais